NHS: Service Leadership, Character, and Scholarship

  • Membership is an honor bestowed upon a student based on the four pillars of NHS: Service, Leadership, Character, and Scholarship. Students at the end of their sophomore/junior year who have a 3.5 GPA will receive a letter saying they are academically eligible to apply for membership.  The membership application needs to reflect that the individual is a person of good character who proves to be a leader who performs service in the community and in the school.  Once selected for membership students have the responsibility to continue to demonstrate these qualities.

    Summer Activities

    During the summer, NHS members are required to work at the MN State Fair and attend the whole group meeting in August. Students may also be invited to attend the Summer Leadership Conference hosted by MAHS.


    2015-2016 NHS Members


    1. Christopher Thigpen-Baker
    2. Cierra Bulau
    3. Lah Lah Doo
    4. Skyler Kuczaboski
    5. Kang Lee
    6. Corbin McCall
    7. Xai Thao
    8. Kevin Tran
    9. Cher Vang
    10. May Flower Vang
    11. Savannah Vang
    12. Cheadle Vue
    13. Douachee Vue
    14. Bae Wa
    15. Kennedy Yang


    1. Sakina Gorden
    2. Mee Kai
    3. Putida Kupaphan
    4. Mai Zoua Lee
    5. Maixee  Lor
    6. Emely Martinez
    7. Viky Moua
    8. Jose Ortiz
    9. De Paw
    10. Lucero Ramos
    11. Gratias Sessou
    12. Arriayn Thao
    13. Ann Maureen Vang
    14. Faith Vang
    15. Mai Vang
    16. Soua Vang
    17. Janie Xiong
    18. Melanie Xiong
    19. Kristina Yang

    Returning Members (Seniors)

    1. Yasmin Abdillahi
    2. Gabrielle Brown
    3. Caitlin Burkes
    4. Samsam Dirie
    5. Andrew Haldeman
    6. Gao Ia Her
    7. Marcelus Ifonlaja
    8. Rebecca Kong
    9. Ruweida Sheikh-Mohamed
    10. Jessica Moua
    11. Pantsai Moua
    12. Cindy Nguyen
    13. Andrew Parker
    14. Delaney Simmons (Graduated Early)
    15. Xia Vang
    16. Dua Xiong
    17. Salamong Xiong
    18. Grace K. Yang
    19. July Yang


    Executive Board

    • President- Pachia Thao
    • Vice President-Sophia Thao
    • Secretary- Pao Thao
    • Treasurer- Miranda Lafavor
    • Historian-Djalna Twaha



Meeting Information

  • Day: First & Second Thursday of the month

    Place: Libray or Room 1406

    Time: 6:50 am

    Advisors: Jamie Shady and Megan Lee

    Email or call (651) 744-3078