2017-18 Restorative Practices Applications

  • Posted by Saint Paul Public Schools in May 2017

    Three Saint Paul Public Schools (SPPS) sites have been selected to become restorative practice pilot sites in the 2017-2018 school year.

    Eastern Heights Elementary, Parkway Montessori Middle School and Washington Technology Magnet School were selected from among 13 applicants. These three sites will join the cohort of six schools that began the pilot in fall 2016.

    Restorative Practices is a collaboration among SPPS, its Office of College and Career Readiness, and the Saint Paul Federation of Teachers (SPFT).

    Now coming to an end, the pilot’s first year has been one of learning, growth, leadership and engagement for the initial cohort: American Indian Magnet School, Farnsworth Aerospace Upper, Johnson Senior High School, Maxfield Elementary School, Murray Middle School, and Riverview West Side School of Excellence.

    SPPS educators from a total of 23 schools have attended professional development in restorative practices through the Minnesota Department of Education, the Legal Rights Center and community circle keepers – all sponsored by the Saint Paul Federation of Teachers.

    This summer Saint Paul Federation of Teachers launches its own training in Restorative Practices. SPPS teachers will lead Reclaiming & Restoring Humanity: Restorative Practices Summer Institute for Education Minnesota in August. More than 80 SPPS educators have already enrolled in these summer offerings.

    Family and community members are encouraged to attend a no-cost introduction to restorative practices at Merriam Park Library on Tuesday, June 13, from 5-7:30 p.m.