• What do we want the children to know?  In answering this question the program of inquiry is organized into six themed units under seven disciplines.

    The following provides the framework for the content of the program:


    The Disciplines

    • Languages
    • Mathematics
    • Science & Technology
    • The Arts
    • Personal/Social/Emotional
    • Physical Education
    • Social Studies


    The Programme Of Inquiry

    Who We Are

    An exploration of the nature of the self; of our beliefs and values; of personal, physical, mental, social and spiritual health; of our families, friends, communities andcultures; of our rights and responsibilities; of what it means to behuman.

    Where We Are In Time and Place

    An exploration of our orientation in place and time; of our personal histories; of history and geography from local and global perspectives; of our homes and journeys; of the discoveries, explorations and migrations of humankind; of the contributions of individuals and civilizations.

    How We Express Ourselves

    An exploration of the ways in which we discover and express our nature, ideas, feelings, beliefs and values through language and the arts.

    How the World Works

    An exploration of the physical and material world; of natural and human-made phenomena; of the world of science and technology.

    How We Organize Ourselves

    An exploration of human systems and communities; of the world of work, its nature and its value; of employment and unemployment and their impact.

    How We Share the Planet

    An exploration of our rights and responsibilities as we try to share finite resources with other people, with other living things; of communities and of the relationships within and between them.