Skip To Main Content

Toggle Close Container

Triggers Container

Toggle Schools Canvas

Toggle Site Info Canvas

Mobile Translate

Mobile Main Nav

Mobile Utility

Header Holder

Header Right Column

Header Right Top

Toggle Schools Canvas

Toggle Site Info Canvas

English

Utility Nav - Desktop

Header Right Bottom

Canvas Menus

District Canvas Menu

finder

school & Program

Site Info Canvas

spps

Get in Touch with

contact us

Saint Paul Public Schools, District 625
360 Colborne Street
Saint Paul
MN
55102

Telephone

Get In Touch Navigation

Search Canvas

Horizontal Nav

Breadcrumb

Contact

Contact Human Resources

Human Resources staff work to ensure proper treatment of employees and ensure compliance with local, state and federal laws, rules and regulations, negotiated contracts, and board policy. Administrators also act as advisors to all district staff and outside agencies regarding personnel related matters and to support our efforts in promoting diversity in the workplace.

Location:    

360 Colborne Street 
Saint Paul, MN 55102

Phone: 651-767-8200 
Fax:      651-665-0269

Staff are organized into the following functional areas.

Human Resources Organization Chart School Year 2023-24

Leadership Staff

First Name

Last Name

Title

Email

Phone

Patricia

Pratt-Cook

Executive Chief of Human Resources

patricia.pratt-cook@spps.org

 

Dan

Wells

Assistant Director, Employee/Labor Relations

daniel.wells@spps.org

651-744-6773

Cia

Bear

Assistant Director, Talent Acquisition

cia.bear@spps.org

763-388-4985

Dawn

Ransom

Assistant Director, Educator Development

dawn.ransom@spps.org

651-666-8554

Patty

Norwig

Assistant Director, Total Rewards

patty.norwig@spps.org

651-744-7436

Matt

Rodriguez

Talent Acquisition Manager

matt.rodriguez@spps.org

651-509-8975

Wouang

Lao

SUTR Supervisor

wouang.lao@spps.org

612-476-5928

Kimberly

Gilbert

Payroll Manager

kimberly.gilbert@spps.org

651-767-8271

Gina

Carlson

Benefits Manager

regina.carlson@spps.org

651-767-8146

Susan

Taylor

Executive Assistant

susan.taylor@spps.org

651-544-5275

 

Performance Management, Labor Relations, Employee Relations

Performance Management / Labor Relations is responsible for overseeing performance management. A significant portion of this department's efforts is dedicated to assisting leadership in improving employee performance, managing discipline, and addressing other policy violations by employees.

The Employee Relations and Labor Negotiations function is responsible for representing the district in the collective bargaining process for all of the 28 labor contracts covering the school district's employees. In consultation with the Superintendent, district leadership, and the Board of Education, this office develops the terms and conditions of employment aligned with organizational goals and objectives, resolves disputes in a collaborative fashion and provides guidance in labor relations for the district's supervision, and performance management.

Please review and find the appropriate contact for your inquiry here: 

Labor Relations Distribution of Schools and Programs 2023-24

First name

Last name

Title

Email

Phone

Dan

Wells

Assistant Director, Employee & Labor Relations

daniel.wells@spps.org

651-744-6773

Gayle

Rochelle

Sr. HR Consultant

gayle.rochelle@spps.org

651-262-6428

Megan

Rishel

Sr. HR Consultant

megan.rishel@spps.org

651-503-2472

Nicole

Coppage

Sr. HR Consultant

nicole.coppage@spps.org

651-592-2153

Shannen

Hafner

HR Consultant

shannen.hafner@spps.org

612-248-5288

Melissa

Smolik

Employee Relations Assistant

melissa.smolik@spps.org

651-767-8228

 

Talent Acquisition

Talent Acquisition is responsible for Recruitment and Staffing Services.

Please review and find the appropriate contact for your inquiry here: 

Talent Acquisition Distribution List

 

Educator Development

Educator Development is responsible for developing, supporting, and retaining talented and diverse educators through collaborative construction and implementation of district-wide systems that welcome educators and help them thrive in their careers in SPPS.

First name Last name Title Email Phone
Dawn Ransom Assistant Director, Educator Development dawn.ransom@spps.org 651-666-8554
Wouang Lao SUTR Supervisor wouang.lao@spps.org 612-476-5928
Casey Ulrich New Educator Support casey.ulrich@spps.org 651-744-7090
Danielle Ferguson Recruiter danielle.ferguson@spps.org 651-728-1617
Lyle Dandridge Retention Specialist lyle.dandridge@spps.org 612-394-3720
Jillian Pultz Special Ed Specialist jillian.pultz@spps.org 651-279-2037
Mary Yang Tracks to Licensure mary.yang@spps.org 612-368-6984
Sandi Smith

Teacher Development &

Evaluation/PowerSchool Perform

sandra.smith@spps.org 651-396-8310
Kellie Krick Oborn Undergraduate Teacher Pathway kellie.krick@spps.org

612-618-3562

 

Total Rewards

Payroll, Benefits and Data Management

Payroll handles questions related to paychecks including hours paid, rate of pay, sick/vacation accrual. payroll@spps.org

Benefits handles questions related to insurance benefits including eligibility, costs, deduction amounts, leave of absences, FMLA, and retirement. benefits@spps.org

Data Management handles questions related to lane changes, certification pay, tuition reimbursement, 403b & 457 Plans, and personal data changes. payroll@spps.org 

This team’s goal is to respond to inquiries as soon as reasonably possible. We appreciate your patience during peak payroll processing times and during periods containing a high volume of incoming questions (such as open enrollment and the start or end of the school year.) 

Please review and find the appropriate contact for your inquiry here: 

Total Rewards Team Assignments