Skip To Main Content

Toggle Close Container

Triggers Container

Toggle Schools Canvas

Toggle Site Info Canvas

Mobile Translate

Mobile Main Nav

Mobile Utility

Header Holder

Header Right Column

Header Right Top

Toggle Schools Canvas

Toggle Site Info Canvas

English

Utility Nav - Desktop

Header Right Bottom

Canvas Menus

District Canvas Menu

finder

school & Program

Site Info Canvas

spps

Get in Touch with

contact us

Saint Paul Public Schools, District 625
360 Colborne Street
Saint Paul
MN
55102

Telephone

Get In Touch Navigation

Search Canvas

Horizontal Nav

Breadcrumb

Advanced Placement

Advanced Placement® or AP® is a College Board® program designed to offer a rigorous collegiate-like course experience for high school students.

Students who score at the high-end on the AP® exams may be able to earn college credit at some colleges and universities.

SPPS offers over 20 different AP® courses in seven of the high schools across the district.

Click here for additional information on Advanced Placement® programs from the College Board®.

Fast facts about AP® Exams from the College Board®

  • In 2014, over 4.2 million exams were taken by more than 2.3 million students at over 19,000 high schools.   
  • The Advanced Placement Program® offers 36 courses in a wide variety of subject areas.
  • The majority of U.S. high schools currently participate in the AP Program.
  • Except for the three Studio Art exams, which are portfolio assessments, AP® Exams contain multiple-choice questions and a free-response section.
  • More than 3,600 colleges and universities annually receive AP® Exam scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying scores.

AP® Sites and Coordinators  

Central Senior High

  • Joleen Armstrong    
  • joleen.armstrong@spps.org
  • 651-744-4900

Como Park Senior High

  • Amelia (Milly) Feest    
  • amelia.feest@spps.org
  • 651-293-8800

Creative Arts

  • Eric Swan    
  • eric.swan@spps.org
  • 651-292-3480

Humboldt

  • Jon Smith    
  • jon.smith@spps.org
  • 651-293-8600

Johnson Senior High

  • Paul Schmitz    
  • paul.schmitz@spps.org
  • 651-744-3617

Open World Learning Community

  • Rebecca Palmer    
  • rebecca2.palmer@spps.org
  • 651-293-8670

Washington Technology

  • Benjamin Stock    
  • benjamin.stock@spps.org
  • 651-293-8830