Contact Human Resources

  • The Human Resources Department staff is organized into the following functional areas. For Human Resources general information, please call 651-767-8200.

    Human Resources Department 360 Colborne Street Saint Paul, MN 55102. Phone: 651-767-8200. Fax: 651-665-0269

    All Human Resources staff work to ensure the proper treatment of employees and ensure compliance with local, state and federal laws, rules and regulations, negotiated contracts, and board policy. Administrators also act as advisors to all district staff and outside agencies regarding personnel related matters and to support our efforts in promoting diversity in the workplace.

Leadership Staff

Last Name First Name Title Email Phone
McCarty Kenyatta Executive Director, Human Resources kenyatta.mccarty@spps.org 651-767-8202
Vollmer Jim Assistant Director, Employee & Labor Relations jim.vollmer@spps.org 651-767-8215
Norwig Patty Assistant Director, Total Rewards patty.norwig@spps.org 651-744-7436
Carlson Gina Benefits Manager regina.carlson@spps.org 651-767-8146
Motz Kimberly Payroll Manager kimberly.motz@spps.org 651-767-8271
Kelly Aubrey Interim Staffing Manager aubrey.kelly@spps.org 651-767-8243
Gomez Lisa Management Assistant lisa.gomez@spps.org 651-767-8202

Human Resources: Performance Management, Labor Relations, Employee Relations

  • Performance Management / Labor Relations is responsible for performance management and unemployment reporting.  A significant portion of this department's effort is spent in assisting leadership with improving employee performance, managing discipline, and responding to internal claims of discrimination, harassment or other policy violations on the part of an employee.

    The Employee Relations and Labor Negotiations function is responsible for representing the district in the collective bargaining process for all of the 28 labor contracts covering the school district's employees. In consultation with the Superintendent, district leadership, and the Board of Education, this office develops the terms and conditions of employment aligned with organizational goals and objectives, resolves disputes in a collaborative fashion and provides guidance in labor relations for the district's supervision, and perfromance management.

Last name First name Title Email Phone
Vollmer Jim Assistant Director, Employee & Labor Relations Jim.vollmer@spps.org 651-767-8215
Wells Dan Employee Relations Manager daniel.wells@spps.org 651-744-6378
Smolik Melissa Employee Relations Assistant melissa.smolik@spps.org 651-767-8228
Coppage Nicole Consultant nicole.coppage@spps.org 651-744-6512
Mullaney Mike Consultant mike.mullaney@spps.org 651-767-8229
Rishel Megan Consultant megan.rishel@spps.org 651-767-8208
Rochelle Gayle Consultant gayle.rochelle@spps.org 651-744-8386
Shelby Brenda Consultant brenda.shelby@spps.org 651-744-6019

PAYROLL, BENEFITS, AND DATA MANAGEMENT

  • Payroll can assist you with questions related to you paycheck including hours paid, rate of pay, sick/vacation accrual.   (payroll@spps.org)

    Benefits can assist you with questions related to your insurance benefits including eligibility, costs,  deduction amounts, leave of absences, FMLA, and retirement. (benefits@spps.org)

    Data Managment can assist you with questions related to lane changes, certification pay, tuition reimbursement, 403b & 457 Plans, and personal data changes. (payroll@spps.org)

    Our goal is to respond to your inquiry as soon as reasonably possible.  We appreciate your patience in waiting for a response during peak payroll processing times, and during periods where there are a high volume of incoming questions (such as open enrollment and the start or end of the school year.)    Whether e-mailing or calling, please provide your name, employee number, and a phone number where you can be reached.  This will help us get back to you sooner with the information you need.

Last name First name Title Email Phone Responsibilities
Norwig Patty Assistant Director, Total Rewards patty.norwig@spps.org 651-744-7436
Motz Kim Payroll Manager kimberly.motz@spps.org 651-767-8271 Escalated Payroll-related Issues; Principal and Manager Resource on Payroll-related questions
Clark Derrick Payroll Specialist derrick.clark@spps.org 651-325-2539 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Johnson Lindsae Payroll Specialist lindsae.johnson@spps.org 651-767-8264 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Sonnenberg David Payroll Specialist david.sonnenberg@spps.org 651-767-8169 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Wallace Michelle Garnishment Specialist michelle.wallace@spps.org 651-767-8268 Wage garnishments, Child Support, Tax Levies, Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Ferraro Isabel Payroll Associate isabel.ferraro@spps.org 651-767-8207 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Martens Paula Payroll Associate paula.martens@spps.org 651-767-8273 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Willis Tadija Payroll Associate tadjia.willis@spps.org 651-767-8272 Payroll & Leave accruals for groups listed in "Payroll Team Assignments"
Rodriguez Andres Payroll Technician andres.rodriguez@spps.org 651-767-8274 HR Data Maintenance, Teacher & EA Lane Changes, Premium Pay, Certification Pay, 40b and 457 Changes (A-L)
Ticknor Molly Payroll Technician molly.ticknor@spps.org 651-744-5593 HR Data Maintenance, TA Lane Changes, Tuition Reimbursement, 40b and 457 Changes (M-Z)
Lynch Sheila HRIS Analyst sheila.lynch@spps.org 651-744-5437 HR Data requests, Fed/State Reporting, E-form development, Vendor Files, System Table Maintenance, PSoft Upgrade
Nissen Shannon HRIS Analyst shannon.nissen@spps.org 651-767-8220 HR Data requests, Fed/State Reporting, E-form development, Vendor Files, System Table Maintenance, PSoft Upgrade
Wiese Katie HRIS Analyst katelyn.wiese@spps.org 651-325-2514 HR Data requests, Fed/State Reporting, E-form development, Vendor Files, System Table Maintenance, PSoft Upgrade
Carlson Gina Benefits Manager regina.carlson@spps.org 651-767-8146 Escalated Benefit-related Issues; Principal and Manager Resource on Benefit-related questions
Cummins Janine Benefits Specialist janine.cummins@spps.org 651-767-8266 Insurance Coverage inquiries and Qualifying Status Changes
Jones Chantell Benefits Specialist chantell.jones@spps.org 651-767-8227 Retiree and COBRA Continuation Insurance Coverage
McKnight Davena Benefits Specialist davena.mcknight@spps.org 651-767-8231 Leaves of Absence (last names A-K)
Motz Kelly Benefits Specialist kelly.motz@spps.org 651-767-8205 Leaves of Absence (last names L-Z)

Workforce Management

  • Workforce Management is responsible for Recruitment and Staffing Services.

Last Name First Name Title Email Phone Responsibilities
Kelly Aubrey Interim Staffing Manager aubrey.kelly@spps.org 651-767-8243
Vang Kha Workforce Management Team Lead kha.vang@spps.org 651-767-8197
Baker JaKeya HR Coordinator jakeya.baker@spps.org 651-767-8224
Hafner Shannen HR Coordinator shannen.hafner@spps.org 651-767-8234
Scharpen Ashley HR Coordinator ashley.scharpen@spps.org 651-744-3442
Udeh Gloria HR Coordinator gloria.udeh@spps.org 651-744-2743
Xiong Anny HR Coordinator/SPPS Urban Teacher Residency (SUTR) Recruiter anny.xiong@spps.org 651-767-8223
Hernandez Priscilla HR Associate priscilla.hernandez@spps.org 651-767-8199
Pha Lilly(Ki-ia) HR Associate ki-ia.pha@spps.org 651-767-8217