Contact Human Resources

  • The Human Resources Department staff is organized into the following functional areas. For Human Resources general information, please call 651-767-8200.

    Human Resources Department 360 Colborne Street Saint Paul, MN 55102. Phone: 651-767-8200. Fax: 651-665-0269

    All Human Resources staff work to ensure the proper treatment of employees and ensure compliance with local, state and federal laws, rules and regulations, negotiated contracts, and board policy. Administrators also act as advisors to all district staff and outside agencies regarding personnel related matters and to support our efforts in promoting diversity in the workplace.

Leadership Staff

Last Name First Name Title Email Phone
Cathey Laurin Executive Director laurin.cathey@spps.org 651-767-8200
Carlson Gina Management Assistant Regina.Carlson@spps.org 651-767-8202
McCarty Kenyatta Assistant Director, Workforce Planning & Organizational Design Kenyatta.McCarty@spps.org 651.767.8196
Vollmer Jim Assistant Director, Employee & Labor Relations Jim.Vollmer@spps.org 651.767.8215
Norwig Patty Manager, Payroll and HR Data Mgmt Patty.norwig@spps.org 651.744.7436
Moua Bou Consultant, HR Projects / Workfore Design Lead Bou.moua@spps.org 651.767.8209
Hernandez Priscilla Human Resources Associate priscilla.hernandez@spps.org 651-767-8200
Victor Joyce Manager, Benefits / Employee & Labor Relations Joyce.victor@spps.org 651-767-8146

Human Resources: Performance Management, Labor Relations, Employee Relations

  • Performance Management / Labor Relations is responsible for performance management and unemployment reporting.  A significant portion of this department's effort is spent in assisting leadership with improving employee performance, managing discipline, and responding to internal claims of discrimination, harassment or other policy violations on the part of an employee.

    The Employee Relations and Labor Negotiations function is responsible for representing the district in the collective bargaining process for all of the 28 labor contracts covering the school district's employees. In consultation with the Superintendent, district leadership, and the Board of Education, this office develops the terms and conditions of employment aligned with organizational goals and objectives, resolves disputes in a collaborative fashion and provides guidance in labor relations for the district's supervision, and perfromance management.

Last name First name Title Email Phone
Vollmer Jim Assistant Director, Employee & Labor Relations Jim.vollmer@spps.org 651.767.8215
Victor Joyce Assistant Manager, Employee & Labor Relations Joyce.victor@spps.org 651.767.8146
Smolik Melissa Employee Relations Assistant melissa.smolik@spps.org 651.767.8228
Coppage Nicole Consultant nicole.coppage@spps.org 651-744-6512
Rishel Megan Consultant megan.rishel@spps.org 651-767-8208
Roth Lorie Consultant lorie.roth@spps.org 651-767-8222
Yang Amylee Consultant amylee.yang@spps.org 651-744-6019
Rochelle Gayle Consultant gayle.rochelle@spps.org 651-744-8386

PAYROLL AND DATA MANAGEMENT

  • For questions relating to payroll, lane changes, or PeopleSoft data requests, you can simply e-mail payroll and your designated payroll contact will respond to your inquiry as soon as reasonably possible.  You may also call your designated payroll contact (phone numbers are on the attached list below.) The main phone number for HR is (651) 767-8200.  Whether e-mailing or calling, please provide your name, employee number, and a phone number where you can be reached.  This will help us get back to you sooner with the information you need.

    For escalated issues that cannot be resolved through your designated payroll contact, Patty Norwig is the payroll manager and can be reached at patty.norwig@spps.org or at (651) 744-7436.

Last name First name Title Email Phone Responsibilities
Norwig Patty Payroll Manager patty.norwig@spps.org 651-744-7436
Motz Kim Payroll Team Lead kimberly.motz@spps.org 651-767-8271
Johnson Lindsae Payroll Specialist lindsae.johnson@spps.org 651-767-8264
Clark Derrick Payroll Associate derrick.clark@spps.org 651-325-2539
Martens Paula Payroll Associate paula.martens@spps.org 651-767-8273
Sonnenberg David Payroll Associate david.sonnenberg@spps.org 651-767-8169
Willis Tadija Payroll Associate tadjia.willis@spps.org 651-767-8272
Wallace Michelle Garnishment Specialist michelle.wallace@spps.org 651-767-8268
Rodriguez Andres Human Resources Associate andres.rodriguez@spps.org 651-767-8274
Ticknor Molly Human Resources Associate molly.ticknor@spps.org 651-744-5593
Nissen Shannon HRIS Analyst shannon.nissen@spps.org 651-767-8220
Wiese Katie HRIS Analyst katelyn.wiese@spps.org 651-325-2514

BENEFITS AND LEAVES

Last Name First Name Title Email Phone Responsibilities
Jones Chantell Benefits Technician chantell.jones@spps.org 651-767-8227 Employee, Retiree and Post Employment (COBRA) Insurance
Cummins Janine Human Resources Information Management Associate janine.cummins@spps.org 651.767.8266 Benefits Billing and Qualifying Status Changes
McKnight Davena Information Management Associate davena.mcknight@spps.org 651.767.8231 Leaves of Absence (last names A to K)
Motz Kelly Human Resources Information Management Associate kelly.motz@spps.org 651-767-8205 Leaves of Absence (last names L-Z)
Neppl Brian Wellness Initiative Coordinator brian.neppl@spps.org 651-767-8154 Employee Wellness / HealthPartners Onsite Coordinator

Workforce Management

  • Workforce Management is responsible for Recruitment and Staffing Services.

Last Name First Name Title Email Phone Responsibilities
McCarty Kenyatta Assistant Director, Workforce Planning & Organizational Design Kenyatta.McCarty@spps.org 651-767-8196
Vang Kha Workforce Management Team Lead kha.vang@spps.org 651-767-8197
Kassim Farhiya HR Coordinator farhiya.kassim@spps.org 651-767-8223
Kelly Aubrey HR Coordinator aubrey.kelly@spps.org 651-767-8243
Mullaney Mike HR Coordinator mike.mullaney@spps.org 651-767-8229
Ouellette Kelly HR Associate kelly.ouellette@spps.org 651-767-8217
Rime Shannen HR Associate shannen.rime@spps.org 651-767-8234
Sanchez-Michaels TiMecka HR Coordinator timecka.sanchez-michaels@spps.org 651-767-8199
Vang May HR Coordinator may.vang@spps.org 651-767-8207
Baker JaKeya HR Associate jakeya.baker@spps.org 651-767-8224