Return to Headlines

Seven SPPS Students Named 2024 National Merit Semifinalists

Seven Saint Paul Public Schools high school seniors are among the National Merit Scholarship Corp.'s 16,000 semifinalists for the 69th annual scholarship program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to win one of the 7,140 National Merit Scholarships that will be awarded next spring.

SPPS's 2024 National Merit semifinalists are:

  • Maria Bryan, Central High School
  • Samuel Geisler, Central High School
  • Joshua Lonstein, Central High School
  • Finnegan Powers-Tiffin, Central High School
  • Kai Sackreiter, Como Park High School
  • Louis Sloot, Highland Park High School
  • Sophie Warner, Como Park High School

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level. About 95 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of those finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship. Winners will be announced starting in April through July 2024.