Return to Headlines

Congratulations to the 2019 Lillian Wright Grant Award Recipients

Since 1999, Saint Paul Public Schools have received funds from the Lillian Wright & C. Emil Berglund Foundation to bring authors into our elementary schools to provide enrichment opportunities and to encourage students to enjoy reading. 
Lillian Wright, a long-time Saint Paul Public Schools teacher and principal, who served at both Linwood and Webster (now Obama) elementary schools, endowed the program. She is credited with starting the first elementary school library in Saint Paul at Linwood School in the 1930s.
The stated purpose of the endowment is to grant money to elementary schools to allow for a visit by an author or an illustrator of children’s books or poetry. The vision of Ms. Wright was that students in our elementary schools experience a visit from an author at least once during their K-5 years. 
There was a tremendous response to the grant this year!
The 2018-19 grant recipients are:
  • Linwood Monroe Arts Plus
  • Cherokee Heights Elementary
  • Hazel Park Preparatory
  • Jackson Elementary
  • The Heights Community School
  • Dayton's Bluff
  • Chelsea Heights
  • Barack and Michelle Obama Elementary
  • Crossroads Elementary
Congratulations to all of the grant winners!