Return to Headlines

Math Team Wins 1st in State Tournament!

The team had their best performance of the season at just the right time, claiming the Class AA state championship.
The Minnesota State High School Mathematics League Tournament was held Monday in South St. Paul. School winners: Wayzata in AAA division, Highland Park in AA and Minnesota Valley Lutheran in A ...

All nine members of the team scored points and were led by Josh Taylor and Nat Alden both with 10 points.  This championship joins previous state championships won in 1987 and 2002 (both held in a single class system).  Highland's team has now gone to state 24 years in a row.  Please honor team members when you see them:  Clare Murphy, Anna Schmidt, Anindita Rajamani, Josh Taylor, Leo Witzke,  Duncan Ong (all sophomores), and Andrew Noecker, Nat Alden, Michael West-Hest (all seniors) and Coaches Mr. O'Connell and Mr. Anderson.


Math Team