Return to Headlines

7 SPPS Students Named 2020 National Merit Semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship icon

Seven students in Saint Paul Public Schools have been named 2020 National Merit semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Program.

Isabella Frost, Cali Rivera, Eleanor Weston, of Central High School; Alistair Pattison and Marco Tabacman of Como Park Senior High School; and Aidan Alme and Natalie Norquist, of Highland Park Senior High School; were all named semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship.

Nationwide, the National Merit Scholarship Program named 16,000 semifinalists. These academically talented high school seniors have the opportunity to compete for about 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth $31 million.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Ninety percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

High school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships, by taking the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the finalist group based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious affiliation. The program will select finalists between April and July to receive a Merit Scholarship award.