Return to Headlines

11 SPPS Students Named 2021 National Merit Semifinalists

Eleven high school seniors in Saint Paul Public Schools have been named 2021 National Merit Scholar semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official and write an essay. 

The 2021 SPPS semifinalists are:

Central High School

  • Wrigley Brick
  • Mani Chadaga
  • Alexander Hydrie
  • Marit Isaacson
  • Simon Klancher
  • Simon Mulrooney
  • Akshay Nambudiripad
  • Joseph Thompson

Highland Park High School

  • Celeste Alden
  • Anna Schmidt

Washington Technology Magnet School

  • Mason Rounds

These 11 students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide, representing less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors. They must fulfill several requirements to be named a finalist. From those finalists, 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million will be awarded next spring. 

Merit scholars are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in college, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

For more information, visit