Return to Headlines

Three SPPS Teachers are Candidates for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year logo Published February 6, 2021

Three Saint Paul Public Schools (SPPS) teachers are candidates for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. They are:

  • Eugenia Popa, Harding High School
  • John Horton, J.J. Hill Montessori School
  • Kathy Romero, Como Park Senior High School

This year's pool of 75 candidates includes pre-kindergarten through 12th grade, Early Childhood Family Education and Adult Basic Education teachers from public and private schools across the state. The 57th annual program, organized by Education Minnesota, celebrates the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota. 

An independent panel will review the candidates’ portfolios over the next few weeks and narrow the list to a group of semifinalists. In March, the panel will convene again and review additional materials from the semifinalists to choose a group of finalists. Because of safety precautions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the awards banquet, set for May 2 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre, may be postponed.

See the full list of candidates on the Education Minnesota website.