Return to Headlines

Five SPPS Students Awarded 2022 National Merit Scholarships

Five Saint Paul Public Schools students have received National Merit Scholarship awards.

Leo K. Curtis, a student at Central Senior High School, and Finn A. Zwank of Highland Park Senior High received the college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awarded by the University of Minnesota. Leo plans to study computer science and Finn plans to study medicine.

Soren C. Sackreiter, a Como Park Senior High student, received the corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship award. Soren, who plans to study ecology, received the award from the National Distillers Distributors Foundation.

Adri K. Arquin of Central Senior High School and Kathleen R. Bacigalupi of Highland Park Senior High were recently awarded the National Merit $2,500 Scholarship award. Adri plans to study public policy. Kathleen is undecided.

In addition, Benjamin Pinto from Highland Park Senior High was named a National Merit semifinalist.