Return to Headlines

SPPS Celebrates 2019 Athena Award Winners

The 2019 Saint Paul Area Athena Award winners were recently announced during the 25th annual award luncheon.

The Saint Paul Area Athena Awards program was initiated in 1995 to honor outstanding female athletes. Each year, one student athlete from every Saint Paul area high school is selected to receive the award.

This year’s Athena Award winners in SPPS are:

  • Iyanna Hutchinson, Central Senior High School -- Sports: golf and volleyball
  • Gianna Gabrielli, Como Park Senior High School -- Sports: soccer, hockey and softball
  • Iyanna Rodgers-Neely, Harding Senior High School -- Sports: basketball, volleyball and softball
  • Sophia Haley, Highland Park Senior High School -- Sports: golf, tennis and nordic skiing
  • Yusanat Tway, Humboldt High School -- Sports: tennis, cross country, softball and basketball
  • Sydney Birkeland, Johnson Senior High School -- Sports: volleyball, basketball and softball
  • Janice Cole, Washington Technology Magnet -- Sports: track and field, cross country and soccer