Who is eligible to receive special education services?

Posted by:

Not every child who appears to struggle in school will receive special education services under IDEA.

IDEA lists 13 different disability categories under which 3-21-year-olds may be eligible for special education and related services. The disability categories listed in IDEA are:

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD)
  • Blind/Visually Impaired (VI)
  • Deaf-Blind (DB)
  • Deaf and Hard of Hearing (DHH)
    Developmental Cognitive Disabilities - mild/moderate (DCD)
  • Developmental Cognitive Disabilities - severe/profound (DCD)
  • Developmental Delay (DD)
    Emotional or Behavioral Disorders (EBD)
  • Other Health Disabilities (OHD)
  • Physically Impaired (PI)
  • Severely Multiply Impaired (SMI)
  • Specific Learning Disabilities (SLD)
  • Speech or Language Impairments (S/LI)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)